Welcome to Book Club!

It cannot be that the people should grow in grace unless they give themselves to reading. A reading people will always be a knowing people. —John Wesley

About Our Book Club

When & Where

The Book Club meets every first Wednesday of each month with the exception of the month of January. All meetings are held in the Reading Room of the Loda Library.

Time

The Library opens at 12:45 p.m. Discussion begins at 1:00 p.m. and continues until 2:15 p.m. At 2:15 the book to be dsicussed at the next meeting will be announced. The Library closes at 2:30 p.m.

Contact Information

Due to inclament weather, the Book Club may cancel or reschedule meetings at any time. If you have meeting concerns please contact the Loda Township Library by phone 217-386-2783 or by email at lodalibrary@gmail.com.

Book Club Sept. Selection

"The Dress in the Window" by Sofia Grant

A perfect debut novel is like a perfect dress—it’s a “must have” and when you “try it on” it fits perfectly. In this richly patterned story of sisterhood, ambition, and reinvention Sofia Grant has created a story just right for fans of Vintage and The Dress Shop of Dreams.  World War II has ended and American women are shedding their old clothes for the gorgeous new styles. Voluminous layers of taffeta and tulle, wasp waists, and beautiful color—all so welcome after years of sensible styles and strict rationing.    Jeanne Brink and her sister Peggy both had to weather every tragedy the war had to offer—Peggy now a widowed mother, Jeanne without the fiancé she’d counted on, both living with Peggy’s mother-in-law in a grim mill town.  But despite their grey pasts they long for a bright future—Jeanne by creating stunning dresses for her clients with the help of her sister Peggy’s brilliant sketches.  Together, they combine forces to create amazing fashions and a more prosperous life than they’d ever dreamed of before the war. But sisterly love can sometimes turn into sibling jealousy. Always playing second fiddle to her sister, Peggy yearns to make her own mark. But as they soon discover, the future is never without its surprises, ones that have the potential to make—or break—their dreams.

What the Book Club Thought

"News of the World" by Paulette Jiles

We thought it was a good book and it was enjoyable. The interaction between the captain and the child was nurturing and amusing at times. We were not aware of the role of a news reader. We learned about captive children and how difficult it was to adapt after they returned to their families.

"Lilac Girls" by Martha Hall Kelly

The majority of our group really liked this book. We liked how the story was about three different women, we liked how the author wrote each chapter, and how rich the story was in true history and character development. Two members of our group had a difficult time with the gruesome factual experiences of two of the women.

"Homegoing" by Yaa Gyasi

This powerful, dark book is beautifully written, a compelling read, and educational in several ways.